top of page
Stay In The Know:

"That you may prove what is good and acceptable and perfect will of God"

So if you haven't noticed, or this is your first time visiting my blog, my theme revolves around my favorite bible verse, Romans 12:2. This verse can be broken up in to two parts. The first part would be "And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind,". The second part would be "that you may prove what is good and acceptable and perfect will of God.". Tonight I want to look at the second part of this verse.

While thinking about what I wanted to write my next blog about I had two things in mind.

1. I want to relate this to Romans 12:2

2. I want to talk about the topic "What is my purpose? Do I have one?"

I think the second part of this verse ties in perfectly with both things.

Sometimes we go through times in life where we ask ourselves, "What is my purpose?" "Why am I here?" "What does God want from me?". The second part of Romans 12:2 answers that perfectly!! Our purpose is to prove what is good and what is perfect and what is pleasing and acceptable to our Lord God! Let's look at two out of many examples in the Bible.

In the first chapter of Jeremiah, we read of a conversation between the Lord and the prophet Jeremiah. Starting at verse 4 we read God saying unto Jeremiah,

"Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; Before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations."

Wow. Before Jeremiah was even formed in the womb, God knew him. God blessed Jeremiah before he was even born and had a plan for him. All before he was born!! In the same way, God is like that for us. God knows us and has a set purpose for us before we are created and born. How amazing is that?? Let's continue with verse 6. (Jeremiah's response)

"Then I said: "Ah, Lord God! Behold, I cannot speak, for I am only a youth."

Doesn't that sound like some of us sometimes? We think that since we are young, we can not speak up because we think no one will pay attention to us. But listen here, it doesn't matter if people listen to us or pay attention. It matters that we spoke up and did what was pleasing to God and did as God said. Let's keep reading and see what God said to Jeremiah.

"Do not say, 'I am a youth,' For you shall go to all to whom I send you, and whatever I command you, you shall speak. Do not be afraid of their faces, For I am with you to deliver you." says the Lord.

This message (verse 7-8) is so powerful and has so much meaning behind it. God tells us to not use the "I'm too young" excuse. He commands us to do as He says, and to not be afraid for He is with us. God is with us at all times and He's always got our back. God will be so pleased with us when He sees us spread his gospel like he commands and that is our purpose. This leads us to our next example.

Let's look at what Jesus says in his sermon on the mount in Matthew 5:13-16. This right here clearly tells us what our purpose is.

13 “You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt loses its flavor, how shall it be seasoned? It is then good for nothing but to be thrown out and trampled underfoot by men. 14 “You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. 15 Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. 16 Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.

The salt of the earth? What does Jesus mean? Well, what do we use to season our foods when they are bland, and to make our foods better? Salt. Jesus is saying that we are here to make the world better and more pleasing to God. But if we lose our flavor, what are we worth? If we lose our focus on God then we are not fulfilling our purpose.

Jesus also tells us that we are a light in the world. A light in the darkness. A city that is set on a hill and that cannot be hidden. What do all of these have in common? They stand out. We as Christians are called to stand out. Not fit in and blend into the darkness of the world. We are to let our light so shine before men that they may see out good works and glorify our Father in Heaven. That right there is our purpose. To glorify God because He sent His son to die on the cross for us and wash away our sins. We owe Him our all.

I hope this blog post helped you see your purpose or remind you what you are on this earth to do. I pray that this will lift you up as much as it did me.

Xoxo,

Annessa Wrenn


bottom of page