top of page
Stay In The Know:

I Come Broken

"I come broken to be mended I come wounded to be healed I come desperate to be rescued I come empty to be filled I come guilty to be pardoned By the blood of Christ the Lamb And I'm welcomed with open arms Praise God, just as I am"

This chorus from the song Just As I Am-I Come Broken really hits home to me whenever we sing it at youth events. It's so deep and I believe it's something everyone can relate to. No matter how confident some may appear, the truth is, we are ALL broken. In our brokenness, we often ask: "God, where are you...are you there?". We're all in need of fixing.

God makes us new. He makes us as if the brokenness wasn't there. He cleanses us and mends us.

Isaiah 41:10- "So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand."

Psalm 147:3- "He heals the broken hearted, and binds up their wounds."

Psalm 34:18- "The Lord is near to those who have a broken heart, And saves such as have a contrite spirit."

What causes a broken life? Sin. Broken things and broken people are a result of sin and wrong doings. Brokenness hurts and it takes many forms: thoughts of insignificance, emptiness, anxiety, bitterness, depression, worry, persistent shame, addictions, and compulsive behavior. Sometimes we try to cover up and overcome the pain and brokenness with substitutes.

We can open up to God when we are broken and lost. You can either become better or bitter. When trouble comes our way, it's an opportunity to become better and to do what is right. James 1:2-5 reads, "My brethren, count it all joy when you fall into various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing. If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him."

I want to close with two thoughts.

1. Your world is not falling apart, it's falling into place.

2. Broken Crayons still color. He (Christ Jesus) still loves you and uses you if you are broken.

With love,

Annessa


bottom of page